Australian Sunglass Standards

All sunglasses sold within Australia and New Zealand are required to comply with Australian Standards for Sunglasses and Fashion Spectacles (AS/NZS 1067:2016) so you can be confident that your eyes will be protected.

Below are the Lens Categories of different kinds of sunglasses:

Category 0 - Fashion Spectacles

Not sunglasses very low UV protection

Category 1 - Fashion Spectacles

Not sunglasses limited sunglare reduction. Some UV protection.

Category 2 - Sunglasses

Medium sunglare reduction. Good UV protection

Category 3 - Sunglasses

High sunglare reduction. Good UV protection.

Category 4 - Special Purpose Sunglasses

Very high sunglare reduction. Good UV protection. Not to be used while driving

The website product pages and product packaging will be labelled showing the lens category number, manufacturer and the applicable Australian Standard.